Parenting Advice

zumabeach

Erica and I had an impromptu photo-shoot when we were approached by a photog at Zuma Beach. Photo by Kara Block (kablock23@yahoo.com).

This morning I dropped off our rent check and our property management lady started giving me all kinds of parenting advice. Here are some of the things she said to do:

-Sleep now, because you won’t later
-Don’t be surprised if you forget to pay rent next month
-Swaddle a lot
-Don’t pull tags off of all the clothes you get, take some back and get larger sizes
-If breast feeding doesn’t take, just bottle-feed, it’s no big deal
-Tell Erica to take the drugs
-Take parenting classes that are focused on Positive Parenting
-Use dinnermyway.com for some hot and fast meals

I can’t remember everything, but she said a lot of things. Though the information was completely unsolicited, I am now asking you. What are the things we need to know? What would you have done differently? Give us your tips and tricks here.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liege Davis on August 4, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I feel I could write a boom of stuff I would have done differently. First and foremost, I thought she HAD to eat every 4 hours so I set up my alarmclock in the middle of the night. DON’T DO THAT. take the sleep. Second: sleep when baby sleeps. Everybody told me thy and I didn’t listen. Looking back I know I should have done it. Sleep is important and u don’t get a whole lot of uninterrupted sleep hen try come home.
    If your baby likes swaddling, a swaddling blanket is fast and easy and there are less chances it’ll come undone at night.
    That’s te main thugs I can think of now. I’ll probably come back later with more! And sorry if something doesn’t make sense, I’m writig from my phone!

    Reply

  2. Posted by darla mason on August 4, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I agree about the sleep. We only woke Luke up to eat the first week. After that he let us know when he was ready. Also you need to decide what works for you with who does what for your son. Taking turns or shifts, they are both good but you need to do what is best for you. As he gets older, be consistant in what you say and do. Kids pick up on inconsistency at a very early age. πŸ™‚ As soon as you are ready go out on a date. Shane and I decided before Luke was born that we would still put our marriage first. It is a daily committment and soooo worth it!! I could go on but lastly I will say, write everything down. I have a large calendar on the fridge that I write on all the time so I don’t forget when he does something new. We also wrote down feeding times and nap times and diapers in a notebook for most of the first year so we knew if he was hungry or tired or whatever. Hope these suggestions help. Love you guys!

    Reply

  3. “Never wake a sleeping baby!” became our mantra as well. And, yes, sleep when the baby sleeps. This is something you only get to enjoy with the first child, so take advantage of it.

    Babies appreciate routine. We found the sleep-wake-play cycle worked well; meaning that the child does not go to sleep while eating (well, that’s the theory). This way the baby is more likely to get a full tummy of the good, fatty hind-milk, and feedings have to happen less often. Bedtime routines are also good, even if you know that you’ll be awake in a couple of hours again. Let baby know that night time is different from day – don’t spend too much (or any) time playing & singing, keep lights low, etc.

    As you know, nursing is the best thing for baby. Give it time if it doesn’t work right away. It took my first baby and I two weeks before we could feed without lots of wrestling and crying. Worth it in the long-run, though. Genius babies!

    Most of all, try not to stress about “doing it right”. You’ll get the hang of what works best for your little family – and then your second child will ruin all you figured out! Pray blessings over your baby often.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jen on August 4, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Take a lot of pictures and a lot of videos….and don’t forget to write everything down in the baby book…I thought I would remember all those firsts but I don’t…most of all enjoy because before you know it he/she will be 14 and starting high school (sigh)…those years before Kindergarten are hard but they are really the best!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Donna on August 5, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    All good advice. Sleep is important very important! I will say that babies are pretty good at letting you know when they need something, so go with the “don’t wake a sleeping baby”.

    Parenting from the heart is good advice. Through trial and error and listening to our heart and praying we figure out what works for us as parents and for the baby. Our doctor told me a great piece of advice, “you will get a lot of advice from a lot of people. If you disagree with them and it becomes a problem (especially with mom/mom-in-law) just call me on the phone and tell me what you want to do and I will tell you it is the right thing to do, in fact as the doctor, I insist on it.” In other words, parent from the heart and RELAX and have FUN! Love you guys a lot!!!

    Reply

  6. This is great! Thanks for all the advice and keep it coming!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

