Prayer & Engagement

pepperdinechapel

My favorite place on the campus of Pepperdine University is in and around the Stauffer Chapel. The view from the back of the chapel is amazing. On a clear day you can see Catalina Island and the Santa Monica Pier. In this chapel I’ve led worship, communicated to students, told stories, studied, taken naps between classes, prayed and even had an air-soft gun fight (don’t worry we didn’t hit any of the windows). But one of the most significant things that happened to me was outside of the chapel.

During college, I would often sit behind the chapel, overlooking the ocean on one of the benches and pray. Sometimes it was just for some time alone with Him and sometimes it was because I was stressed or needed some guidance. On one particular night during my senior year…I was seeking guidance. Erica was in a final for one of her classes and the fall semester was coming to a close. I decided to go ask God one important question. I was wrestling with what God wanted for my life and I needed some reassurance that what I wanted to do was hat He wanted me to do. So, I flat out asked him. I don’t usually pray like this, but in this instance it was the perfect thing.

mandemalibu

I said, “God, I really want to get engaged and marry Erica. But I need to know that it’s Your will. I need to know beyond a shadow-of-a-doubt, that we are meant to be together. I need a sign, some kind of confirmation.” Then I sat. I sat and waited. The air was still (odd for Malibu) and the night was clear. It was gorgeous. I had peace, but no “sign.”

I began to walk back to my car and the wind picked up. A gust caught me off guard and a large piece of butcher paper, the kind you use for banners and art projects in elementary school, blew in with the wind. It laid flat in front of me on the hillside behind my car. It sat perfectly still as the wind continued to blow and it read, “Congrats on the engagement!”

It was just two weeks later that Erica and I were engaged. And 8 months later, on August 13, 2005, we were married. I don’t think God always answers prayers in the way we want Him to, but on this particular occasion…He did exactly what I needed. He gave me His blessing.

And after almost 4 years of marriage and our first child on the way, I am extremely blessed.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] This post was Twitted by micahfoster […]

    Reply

  2. I am blessed too! Amazing what God has done in and through our relationship. Love you!

    Reply

  3. […] It’s amazing how… time flies our love grows our relationship deepens our family is forming we have a son due on Sep 12 many times we’ve moved great a team we make our passions match awesome our wedding and reception was  God put us together […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

