Ramblings of a Best Man

A few weeks ago I had the honor of being John’s best man. I MC’d the reception and gave The Speech. But I didn’t get to say everything I wanted to say. So here are some things I may or may not have said in my speech:

  • I’ve known John Grogg since my sophomore year of high school…which makes over a decade
  • John has been my most loyal friend. When I’ve been rude, mean or distant…John didn’t care, he forgave and he moved on
  • We’ve had more spiritual conversations than I can count
  • We have hung out together in High School, Yosemite, Malibu (socal in general), New York, Florida, Germany and France
  • We’ve prayed together
  • We’ve been roommates
  • We’ve disagreed
  • We’ve both been involved in these groups: Gamma Gkkkkkt, ASP, and The Difference
  • We’ve played countless hours of Counter-Strike together…ah, college life
  • We’ve praised God together
  • We’ve shared scripture with one another
  • We’ve shot at each other
  • We’ve even cried

The point is, we’ve shared a lot of life and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for John. You are a true friend. As Sean Connery says in the movie First Knight, “Brother to Brother, Yours in LIfe and Death.”

bestman

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks man, your “ramblings” at the reception meant a lot to me, as does this.

    Though, over a decade?!? Jeesh, we’re getting old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

