18 Months.

For the last 18 months my dad has been out of work. He owned his own construction company for years called Don Foster Construction. He specialized in building church buildings up and down the west coast. I don’t know the exact amount, but I think he’s built somewhere about 65 church buildings of all denominations (I’m guessing). But when the economy tanked, churches stopped building and remodeling. He closed his business and joined a larger construction firm in the Vancouver, Wa area. After a few months they downsized and he got the axe. He’s applied for hundreds, maybe thousands of jobs in the last 18 months.

In November his unemployment was going to stop. In November, my parents would be able to make their last house payment. And in December…the collectors were gearing up to come knocking. But in God’s grace and in His perfect timing I got a call saying that my dad was hired. He was hired in the industry he knows, helping a construction company grow their business AND it is for the salary that my parents need to be able to pay their bills.

Through the last 18 months I’ve seen him:

  • Ask for prayer
  • Wait on God
  • Actively seeking employment (of ANY kind)
  • Volunteer his time (like crazy) at his church
  • Consistently say, “I know God will take care of it”
  • And more.

So things are looking up for my parents. And my dad will finally get to work.

If you’re struggling. If you’re jobless. If you are running out of time…trust in Jesus. He will pull you through. Be productive. Volunteer. Give away even when it’s your last crumb. He will pull you through.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Terry Maldonado on October 14, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Hey Micah…thanks for sharing…this is awesome. I love hearing how God handles everything…especially when we have faith. This is a great story…I am humbled by your dad’s faithfulness and perseverance. All the glory goes to God!

    Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Terry Maldonado, micahfoster. micahfoster said: 18 Months. http://bit.ly/9w1ZEw […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kay Sellers on October 15, 2010 at 10:20 am

    We go to church with your Mom and Dad and we have watch them keep the faith !!! This note says it all. I loved reading it and I know they did too.
    K

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sharon McMahan on October 17, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Thanks for posting this Micah. Your parents have been an inspiration to many of us here in Vancouver.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

